Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Nurses refuses to give CPR to dying woman b/c it's against facility policy Options · View
blondi88
Posted: Monday, March 11, 2013 4:24:58 AM

If this 'nurse' was qualified in first aid she is legally obligated, I think that she should be disciplined. If she was not qualified but had training in first aid she is not legally obligated, it is her decision weather to preform CPR, personally as a Nurse myself, I would give CPR. It is my job to preserve life. Maybe she was under qualified and scared?

Dont hate me coz im beautiful ,hate me coz your partner thinks i am!
Posted: Monday, March 11, 2013 7:05:57 AM

It's been said before, but I'll say it again. What proof is there that CPR would have saved her?

If she'd performed CPR on that elderly lady, there's a very high chance that she might have injured her, making her death all the more painful and the headlines would have been something along the lines of, "Nurse injures and kills ailing woman." People are too quick to jump up and say this person is wrong or that person is wrong and should have something done to them without knowing all the facts.
lafayettemister
Posted: Monday, March 11, 2013 7:15:11 AM

one_winged_angel wrote:
It's been said before, but I'll say it again. What proof is there that CPR would have saved her?

If she'd performed CPR on that elderly lady, there's a very high chance that she might have injured her, making her death all the more painful and the headlines would have been something along the lines of, "Nurse injures and kills ailing woman." People are too quick to jump up and say this person is wrong or that person is wrong and should have something done to them without knowing all the facts.