Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Time to Ban and Burn confederate flags Options · View
BiMale73
Posted: Wednesday, October 16, 2013 6:26:35 PM

JulesR wrote:
1. You have no constitutional 'right' to be offended. Get a thicker skin or move to someplace perfect.

I think you mean "You don't have the right not to be offended."

JulesR wrote:
3. Yeah, slavery was bad. It's a given. It's been over for longer than anyone alive today. It's history. Learn from it.
4. First, before we burn the Stars 'n Bars, let's burn the Union Jack, the hated symbol of British oppression over their own citizen colonials.

I'm no expert in American history, but I believe British oppression (in Amerca) is over for a longer time than slavery.

Mazza
Posted: Wednesday, October 16, 2013 6:35:28 PM

naughtynurse wrote:

You could easily be right, I was raised in the country, but the north. I had/have many friends who flew the flag up there for all the reasons I mentioned earlier. Now that I live in the south I've been exposed to it even more. However, now that I am living in a more urban area, its less of a thing.

To me the biggest symbol for hatred and bigotry will always be just a good old fashioned cross.

We have similar things in Scotland, you know (which I can better opine on, given that this is where I grew up), but it's more of a religious thing, well, religion fueled it and kept it alive to the present day. Which is why I quoted NN...