Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Smoking Bad, or Good? Options · View
maryteresa
Posted: Wednesday, June 20, 2012 9:55:33 PM

More than 50 years ago now, as a young Medical student I did a two-month hospital residency under a Thoraxic Surgeon who daily did cardiac surgery, opening up the chest cavity to gain access to the heart &c. This meant temporarily deflating the lungs.
Lungs of children were beautifully pink and perfect, whereas the lungs of old smoker patients were visibly mottled with black stains, puckered and deformed. On seeing this I resolved never to touch tobacco in any form....not that I had up till then.

Smoking stinks, of course and even following someone walking down the street smoking gives one the whiff of Death. My job is to operate on peoples' mouths and daily I come into very close proximity with habitual smokers. Needless to say the face mask I wear helps minimise the stink from their breaths, as their mouths are like the bottom of an ashtray.....and they have to live with it.

Detecting oral cancers directly caused by pipe smoking keeps one always vigilant. I have recently lost an esteemed and clever colleague, a life-long pipe smoker who in retirement failed to detect esrly changes in his own mouth, announced that he was having to have a 'Block Dissection' of his mouth, tongue & neck to deal with an oral cancer, but he only survived one year.

Few smokers retain their upper back teeth beyond the sge of 50, as the passage of hot gasses daily past the palate causes progressive degeneration and loss of the supporting bone there and the teeth loosen & give trouble.
As a young seriously competative rower one of our chosen eight one year suffered considerable distress after pieces of high-pressure training. It transpired that he was secretly smoking and he lost his place in the boat. Smoking produces carbon monoxide gas which is inhaled, and that is a known respiratory poison.

M.