Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Help...I've been arrested by the grammar police Options · View
Posted: Thursday, May 30, 2013 3:37:28 AM

paul_moadib wrote:

I'm guilty as charged! Only a custodial sentence will do.
I just wanted the policeman....Yeah Baby!!!
Posted: Thursday, May 30, 2013 3:39:09 AM

I meant policewoman! Talk about Eeeeewwww!!
Jack_42
Posted: Thursday, May 30, 2013 3:52:18 AM

SpankMeFlushMe wrote:

I think we Americans use a somewhat bastardised form of English. What I call speaking American. I've been known to correct someones spelling in other forums. I'm no rocket scientist but I can spell pretty well.3some

Americans use a more archaic form of English. This is because of the isolation of the two countries some words such as 'mad' retained their Elizabethan meaning whilst the UK meaning has changed. So although Americans use a lot of new expressions (which I personally really like such as ''that's all she wrote'') their basic language is more old fashioned.
Liz
Posted: Thursday, May 30, 2013 4:00:14 AM

Posted: Thursday, May 30, 2013 4:25:53 AM

One of the reasons I enjoy this site is that it is a learning experience. I have heard high school and college students say "Me and Joe are, you know, going to....." The one class I really hated in school was English, yet it is one class we ALL need. It is hard to believe that grammer isn't pursued in school. But no matter how hard you check with your own eyes and also use spell check on the computer, grammer and spellling mistakes happen and are missed by the writer. Here, we are very lucky to have people who read the submitted story and like any good teacher, show us our mistakes so that we both learn from those mistakes and correct them before publishing. In addition, if you need an editor one will be recommended by the site.