another goodbye to another good friend

last reply
36 replies
2.9k views
0 watchers
0 likes
Lurker
0 likes
after i woke up today, the first person i talked to was my mother. she called to ask if i had heard the news--a very dear close friend of mine was killed overnight in a car accident.

nearly 24 hours after he lost his life, i'm feeling three things very deeply.

first, i feel conflicted. i found out a short time ago that it appears the accident was caused by a drunk driver, a lady so drunk that she was driving the wrong way on a freeway. i'm an attorney, and though i don't do much criminal defense anymore, there was a time when it was all i did, and i've defended probably hundreds of DUI cases. on one hand tonight, i want to hold to my principles and my sense of justice and say that this lady deserves representation just as much as anyone does, that every accused being fairly represented is the only way our court system can work properly, the only way we can feel confident that justice is upheld in our society. on the other hand, while i of course don't know the whole story yet, it appears that this lady made a deliberate decision that ended up taking a man's life, and i can't help but say to hell with what she deserves. the attorney who will have to defend her has a job i wouldn't want.

second, i feel grief. i grieve for the loss of my friend, a man who i've known for half my life, a man who served as an example for me of how to love your god, your wife, and your children with all your heart, a man who shared my love of music and my sense of humor. i grieve for the heartbroken wife he leaves behind, and the young adult and two kids who will never again in this life see their father.