Self promotion!

last reply
16 replies
1.3k views
0 watchers
0 likes
Lurker
0 likes
Personally I get really annoyed by self promotion, emails etc. I feel it's a weakness and portrays the individual as week and rather needy. Am i strange thinking this ?
Gentleman Stranger
0 likes
I don't know that you're strange (although strange can be fun...) but personally I don't get annoyed by them. Writers work hard on their stories, and appreciate it when their friends read them. The feedback is great, and when you get very little your time feels wasted, like you could have just written it down and then wadded it up and thrown it in the trash. A big part of the joy of writing is sharing and knowing others are deriving enjoyment from your efforts. To some extent I figure that people that want to read me are probably already following me, but it never hurts to try to drum up a bit of extra interest - which is why advertising is a multi-billion dollar industry.

Personally, I'm not good at self promotion because I know a lot of people feel as you do and I don't want to impose on them. I tend to send out the spam promotions very rarely as a result. Of the ones I get, I try to read a good number of them, but whether I do or don't it's not a big deal; relief is just a click away, the split-second it takes to click on delete. No harm, no foul.
Lurker
0 likes
Self-promotion will come across as and "Ego trip" to a lot of folks. Self-promotion can be accomplished in many other ways, too, without coming across as obnoxious. Learning the proper skill of "attraction", the ability of capturing others' attention to be around you, to learn from you, to reach a "leadership"' role is a great turn on to others. It then starts to become "organic" in reaching others... networking. Sorry, things I have learned from my Hubby. He always reminds me, that if self-promotion is not done by you, then who? That is the role of the attraction skills ... others will promote you, too.
Rainbow Warrior
0 likes